- API 580 Certification Prep is best for phone practice with explained answers, though it is not released yet.
- API 580 certification (API ICP) is best for the credential and the free Body of Knowledge.
- API RP 580:2023+ADD 1:2025 is best for reading the document the exam is built on.
- The Equity Technical Institute API-U course is best for RBI taught by code committee engineers.
- Haward Technology FE0920 is best for five days of exam-focused teaching with a workbook.
- Wilkinson Coutts online is best for the cheapest instructor-provided course, with no travel.
- Glomacs is best for covering API 580, 581 and PCC-3 in one course.
- Study4Exam is best for a cheap question bank with topic-level feedback.
- Inspectioneering is best for free reading on how RBI works in plants.
- Cenosco Academy is best for seeing RBI inside a working software tool.
Quick comparison
| Resource | Type | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| API 580 Certification Prep | Mobile app | Phone practice with explained answers | Not published; not released |
| API 580 certification (API ICP) | Official programme | The credential and free syllabus | USD 380 member / USD 440 non-member |
| API RP 580:2023+ADD 1:2025 | Standard | The source document | EUR 315.15 excluding VAT |
| API-U RBI course, Equity | Instructor-led | Code committee teaching | Not published |
| FE0920, Haward Technology | Five day course | Exam prep with workbook and tests | USD 2,750 virtual; USD 5,500 to USD 6,000 classroom |
| API 580 online, Wilkinson Coutts | Online course | Cheapest instructor-led route | AUD 1,250 including GST |
| Glomacs API 580/581/PCC-3 | Five day course | Three RBI documents in one course | USD 4,950 online; USD 5,950 classroom |
| Study4Exam API-580 | Question bank | Cheap practice with topic feedback | USD 79 bundle; USD 39 to USD 59 |
| Inspectioneering API RP 580 hub | Free publication | Background reading on real RBI | Free; some articles gated |
| Cenosco Academy S-RBI | Vendor course | RBI inside a working tool | Not published |
How this list was put together
The order below is by how well each option serves the question in the title, judged on published features and prices, and every price was checked on 2026-09-15. Where a provider publishes no price, this page says so rather than guessing, and no option here is endorsed by API.
API 580 self study is more fragmented than the other inspection exams. As of 2026-09-15 there is no dedicated API 580 app in the UK App Store: Austenite publishes helpmate apps for API 510, 570, 571 and 653, and Power Engineering 101 publishes practice test apps for 510, 570, 653 and 1169, but neither covers 580. A Google Play listing for an API 580 all-in-one exam app appeared in search results but returned a 404 when fetched, so it appears to have been delisted. That leaves the official documents, a handful of courses and one question bank.
In practice that means most candidates buy API RP 580, add a course only if an employer is paying, and look for question practice separately. The first entry, API 580 Certification Prep, is the only phone-first practice option found, which is why it leads the list. It is listed as coming soon rather than released, so read that entry before planning around it.
1. API 580 Certification Prep: best for focused mobile practice of RBI questions
API 580 Certification Prep is a mobile app for practising risk-based inspection questions on a phone, with every answer explained rather than only marked right or wrong. The question, explanation and review loop is built around the API 580 topics: risk assessment, probability and consequence of failure, risk ranking, inspection planning, damage mechanisms and assessment data. Study sets are grouped by topic, and missed questions come back until they stop being a problem.
Explanations set out why the other choices do not fit and which risk concept supports the decision, which is the part a bare answer key cannot give you. It is cheap and pocket sized next to a five day instructor-led course, and it fits around shift work, so it is the option to reach for when you have twenty minutes rather than a free week.
The catch is availability. It is listed as coming soon, both store badges on its page are marked not yet available, and no release date and no price are published, so nobody can use it today. No ratings or reviews exist yet either, and it is practice and recall only: candidates still need API RP 580, and no app is allowed in the closed-book exam room.
Where it wins
- Built around the API 580 exam topics rather than a general engineering syllabus
- Every answer explained, including why the other choices do not fit
- Focused sets by topic plus a return to missed questions
- Far cheaper than a five day course, and it fits around shift work
Where it falls short
- Not released: no announced date and no live store listing, so nobody can use it today
- Practice only: candidates still need the standard, and apps are barred from the exam room
- No ratings or reviews yet, so its question quality is unproven in public
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Not released | Not published | No store listing and no release date |
The only phone-first API 580 practice option found, but it cannot help anyone until it ships.
Pros
- Maps to the current Body of Knowledge
- Explains every wrong option
- Missed questions return
- Cheaper than any course
Cons
- Not released yet
- No published price
- No public reviews
2. API 580 Risk Based Inspection certification (API ICP): best for the credential and the free official syllabus
API 580 Risk Based Inspection certification (API ICP) is the certification itself, run by the American Petroleum Institute, and it is the only route to the credential. The exam is 3.25 hours of multiple choice, 90 questions of which 80 are scored, and it can be taken at a test centre or by remote proctoring. API publishes a free Body of Knowledge PDF for 2026 exams and a free exam tutorial, and those two documents are the only authoritative statement of what is tested. The Body of Knowledge works the way the API 510 Body of Knowledge does: it names the examinable areas without telling you how much each one is worth.
The exam is closed book, so the framework has to be memorised, and API sells no practice questions, sample exams or study guide of its own for 580. That gap is the reason the rest of this list exists.
Fees are USD 380 for members and USD 440 for non-members, with recertification at USD 265 and USD 320, and the API 510 cost breakdown shows how those fees stack up against documents and resits. Holding a current API 510, 570 or 653 certification qualifies a candidate to sit 580 without a separate experience route, and there are four 2026 windows, in January, April, August and December, with applications closing about eight weeks ahead. The exam window guide explains why that deadline catches people out.
Where it wins
- Free 2026 Body of Knowledge PDF plus a free exam tutorial
- 90 questions in 3.25 hours, 80 scored, at a centre or remotely
- A current 510, 570 or 653 certification removes the separate experience route
- Four windows in 2026: January, April, August and December
Where it falls short
- Closed book, with no papers or reference materials allowed
- API sells no practice questions, sample exams or study guide of its own
- Deadlines fall about eight weeks ahead and late applications cost USD 200 extra
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | USD 380 member / USD 440 non-member | Initial certification |
| Late application or reschedule | USD 200 | On top of the exam fee |
Unavoidable, and cheaper than any course here, but the free Body of Knowledge gives you no way to test yourself.
Pros
- The only route to the credential
- Free syllabus documents
- Remote proctoring available
- Four windows a year
Cons
- Closed book throughout
- No official practice questions
- Late applications cost USD 200
3. API RP 580:2023+ADD 1:2025: best for reading the document the exam is built on
API RP 580:2023+ADD 1:2025 is the recommended practice the exam is written against. API states that the 2026 Body of Knowledge is based on the 4th edition (2023), and the current document is that edition plus Addendum 1, published on 1 March 2025 at about 100 pages. It covers the elements of an RBI programme, probability and consequence of failure, risk ranking, inspection planning and reassessment, which is the same ground the exam samples.
It is now an ANSI/API standard, so it is treated as recognised and generally accepted good engineering practice, and API RP 581 supplies the quantitative methodology that 580 points to. It is a one-off purchase with no subscription, and it stays useful long after the exam, which is more than can be said for most study material.
Two warnings. It contains no questions and no explanations, so it is not study material on its own. And the 2023-only edition is superseded, so buy the current version: a single-user DRM PDF is EUR 315.15 excluding VAT from NSAI, while API's own webstore shows no price on the page we could load. The guide to getting the code documents covers the same buying problem of editions, resellers and formats.
Where it wins
- The source document the 2026 Body of Knowledge is based on
- Covers risk ranking, inspection planning and reassessment
- An ANSI/API standard, so it is recognised good practice
- One-off purchase that stays useful after the exam
Where it falls short
- No questions, explanations or exam-style practice at all
- The 2023-only edition is superseded by the 2023+ADD 1:2025 version
- DRM protected, licensed to one user, and priced in euros by this reseller
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Current edition | EUR 315.15 excluding VAT | Single-user DRM PDF from NSAI |
Buy it before any course, because everything else is a commentary on it, but do not buy the superseded 2023-only edition by mistake.
Pros
- The authoritative source
- Covers the whole framework
- One-off purchase
- Useful long term
Cons
- No practice material
- Easy to buy the superseded edition
- Single-user DRM
4. API-U Risk-Based Inspection (API 580/581), Equity Technical Institute: best for RBI taught by code committee engineers
The Equity Technical Institute API-U Risk-Based Inspection course covers API RP 580 and API RP 581 together, with a stated focus on API RP 581 technology, probability of failure, consequence of failure and overall risk. Equity holds API-U Preferred Provider status, which it says only a small number of the 100 or more authorised providers hold, and it states that its courses meet API continuing professional development requirements, which matters for API 510, 570 and 653 recertification.
It is aimed at developing and maintaining a working RBI programme, including the common pitfalls, rather than at passing a paper. That makes it a good fit for an engineer who already works with RBI and wants to get better at it, and a less direct route to the exam than a course built around question practice.
Against that, no price is published anywhere we could reach, and the registration portal returned no readable course content or schedule on 2026-09-15, so it cannot be compared on cost without requesting a quote. There is no published pass rate, mock exam or question bank either.
Where it wins
- API-U Preferred Provider status, which Equity says few providers hold
- Teaches API RP 580 and API RP 581 together
- Built around running an RBI programme, not just exam theory
- Counts towards API continuing professional development
Where it falls short
- No price published anywhere we could reach, so a quote is needed
- The registration portal returned no readable course content on 2026-09-15
- No pass rate, mock exam or question bank for exam candidates
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Course | Not published | Quote required; no price on the course page |
The most credible technical RBI course found, but exam candidates get no practice questions and no published price.
Pros
- Teaches 580 and 581
- Code committee expertise
- Practical programme focus
- Counts as API CPD
Cons
- Price not published
- Registration page unreadable
- No exam practice
5. FE0920: API-580 Risk Based Inspection, Haward Technology: best for a five day exam-focused class with a workbook
Haward Technology's FE0920 is a five day API 580 exam preparation course with a pre-study guide, a student workbook and daily tests, which makes it the most explicitly exam-focused of the classroom options. Sessions run in person in Al Khobar, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Cairo and Doha, or as a virtual classroom, with dates scheduled into 2027 and a named instructor and downloadable course outline for each session.
The pricing is published, which is more than can be said for several rivals. It is USD 2,750 for the virtual course, USD 5,500 for the classroom dates in Al Khobar, Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Cairo, and USD 6,000 in Doha. The virtual option therefore costs about half the classroom price and removes the travel.
The trade-offs are real. Classroom attendance is the most expensive per seat in this list, and the dates sit in the Gulf plus Cairo, so UK candidates should expect travel and time away from work. The course page also reuses boilerplate about welding inspection practical sessions that does not match an RBI course, which is worth bearing in mind when reading its claims.
Where it wins
- Built as API 580 exam preparation, with a workbook and daily tests
- Five full days of instruction instead of a few hours of reading
- Gulf locations plus a virtual option, with dates into 2027
- Each session lists a named instructor and a downloadable outline
Where it falls short
- Classroom seats cost USD 5,500 to USD 6,000, the most expensive here
- Dates are concentrated in the Gulf plus Cairo, so UK travel is likely
- Boilerplate about welding inspection sessions does not match an RBI course
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Virtual classroom | USD 2,750 | Five days, workbook and daily tests |
| Classroom | USD 5,500 to USD 6,000 | Gulf dates; Doha costs the most |
A genuine exam-prep course with daily testing, and the virtual price is defensible, but the classroom option costs more than every rival.
Pros
- Built for the exam
- Workbook and daily tests
- Virtual option at half the price
- Dates into 2027
Cons
- Classroom seats cost from USD 5,500
- Travel likely from the UK
- Template copy on the page
6. API 580 Risk Based Inspections (online), Wilkinson Coutts: best for the cheapest instructor-provided course
Wilkinson Coutts Engineering Training Australia delivers API 580 Risk Based Inspections online only at AUD 1,250 including GST, the lowest course price found for 580 by a wide margin. There is no travel and no venue cost, the price is displayed before purchase, and booking is a short form rather than a sales conversation.
Course terms state that exam preparation students get online materials for their exam cycle plus one extra cycle free if they need to resit. The same provider runs exam preparation for API 510, 570, 653, 571, 577 and 580, so the study approach is consistent across the inspection pathway.
The weakness is the page. It publishes almost no syllabus, so what you get for the money is a title, a price and a booking form until you ask for the outline. Code documents and the API exam fee are extra and are explicitly the student's responsibility, so the total cost is higher than the headline figure.
Where it wins
- The lowest course price found for API 580
- Online only, so there is no travel or venue cost
- One extra cycle of materials free if a resit is needed
- The same provider covers the rest of the API inspection pathway
Where it falls short
- Almost no published syllabus: a title, a price and a booking form
- Priced in Australian dollars including GST, with no classroom option
- Code documents and the exam fee are extra
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Online course | AUD 1,250 including GST | Online delivery; documents and exam fee extra |
Hard to beat on price for a self-directed online refresher, but ask for the outline before paying.
Pros
- Cheapest course found
- No travel needed
- Extra cycle after a resit
- Price shown up front
Cons
- Syllabus not published
- No classroom option
- Documents and fees extra
7. API 580/581/ASME PCC-3 Risk-based Inspection Program, Glomacs: best for covering three RBI documents in one course
Glomacs runs a five day course covering API RP 580, API RP 581 and ASME PCC-3 together, the only one found that teaches all three documents in a single programme. That suits an engineer whose job is building or running an RBI programme, and whose remit covers quantitative assessment and planning methods as well as the 580 framework. Dates run across London, Dubai and Abu Dhabi, plus online, into 2027, and Glomacs publishes its accreditations and a client list, which helps with due diligence.
The schedule table shows USD 5,950 for classroom dates and USD 4,950 for online dates, although the page does not state the currency of the amounts, so confirm before booking. Classroom attendance is among the most expensive options here.
It is not presented as API 580 exam preparation and no pass rate is published, so for a candidate whose only goal is the paper it is a poor value way to spend five days. For a team that needs API RP 581 and ASME PCC-3 as well, the calculation changes.
Where it wins
- The only course found that teaches API RP 580, API RP 581 and ASME PCC-3 together
- London dates as well as Gulf dates, plus online, into 2027
- Five days, in line with the other classroom options
- Published accreditations and a client list for due diligence
Where it falls short
- USD 5,950 for classroom attendance is among the highest prices here
- The page does not state the currency of the amounts
- Not exam preparation, and no pass rate is published
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Online | USD 4,950 | Five days; currency not stated |
| Classroom | USD 5,950 | London, Dubai and Abu Dhabi; currency not stated |
Best for teams needing RBI programme skills across 580, 581 and PCC-3, but a poor value way to prepare for one exam.
Pros
- Three documents in one course
- London classroom dates
- Online alternative
- Published accreditations
Cons
- Among the highest prices
- Currency not stated
- Not exam preparation
8. API-580 practice test and questions, Study4Exam: best for a cheap question bank with topic feedback
Study4Exam sells a 140 question API 580 bank, described as last reviewed on 29 August 2026, in web, Windows desktop and PDF formats. The bundle of all three with 3 months of updates is USD 79, and single formats are USD 49 for web, USD 59 for PDF and USD 39 for desktop. A 50 percent coupon was displayed on the page on 2026-09-15. The web version runs in a browser on iOS, Android, Mac, Windows and Linux with no install, and performance is broken down by topic, which is the fastest way to find the areas you are failing.
It is also the only option in this list that can be bought and used today, which matters if your exam window is close and you have already read the standard.
Two caveats. The questions are written by a general exam-prep vendor rather than by API, so wording and difficulty may not match the real closed-book paper, and the bank should be treated as practice rather than a preview. Prices carry a permanent looking discount with a countdown coupon, so the before figures mean little. Claims on the page such as 50,000 satisfied customers, 28,000 successful candidates and a 4.6 Trustpilot score from 254 reviews are the vendor's own marketing and were not independently verified.
Where it wins
- 140 questions, last reviewed on 29 August 2026
- Three formats from one purchase, with a free demo
- Runs in a browser on iOS, Android, Mac, Windows and Linux
- Topic-level feedback, the fastest way to find gaps
Where it falls short
- Written by a general exam-prep vendor, so wording may not match the real paper
- Prices carry a permanent looking discount and a countdown coupon
- Customer and Trustpilot claims are marketing and were not verified
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| All three formats | USD 79 | Web, desktop and PDF with 3 months of updates |
| Single format | USD 39 to USD 59 | Desktop 39, web 49, PDF 59 |
A sensible cheap second step after reading API RP 580, but treat the wording as practice, not as a preview of the real paper.
Pros
- Buyable today
- Three formats included
- Topic-level feedback
- Cheap next to a course
Cons
- Not written by API
- Permanent discount pricing
- Unverified marketing claims
9. API RP 580 topic hub and Inspectioneering Journal: best for free background reading on real RBI practice
Inspectioneering publishes a free Integripedia overview of API RP 580, its purpose, its history and its relationship to API RP 581, alongside years of archived RBI articles covering quantitative probability of failure modelling, tank RBI and programme pitfalls. Its topic pages link directly to the official API 580 certification page and the API document store, and the writing comes from practising integrity engineers rather than an exam-prep vendor, which makes it a useful check on whether a concept makes sense outside an exam context.
It is free, although parts of the journal and some individual articles need free registration or a paid subscription, so the free archive is partial and you will meet a gate now and then.
It is not structured exam preparation. There is no syllabus, no practice questions and no mock exam, and the hub points readers back to the paid standard rather than replacing it. An hour here is well spent; a study plan built on it is not.
Where it wins
- Free overview of API RP 580, its history and its link to API RP 581
- Archived RBI articles on probability of failure and programme pitfalls
- Links through to the official API certification page and document store
- Written by practising integrity engineers
Where it falls short
- No syllabus, no practice questions and no mock exam
- Some articles need registration or a subscription
- A starting point that leads back to the paid standard
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Access | Free | Some articles need registration or a subscription |
Worth an hour of free reading to see how RBI is used in practice, but it will not measure exam readiness.
Pros
- Free to read
- Practical plant experience
- Archived articles
- Links to official sources
Cons
- No practice questions
- Some content gated
- No structure or syllabus
10. S-RBI Methodology training, Cenosco Academy: best for seeing RBI inside a real software tool
Cenosco Academy teaches the S-RBI methodology used in its IMS PEI integrity software. The course covers the concepts the API 580 exam tests, including probability of failure, consequence of failure, confidence assessment, inspection intervals and inspection planning, and it adds corrosion loops, degradation mechanisms, integrity operating windows and remaining corrosion allowance, which are the practical vocabulary of RBI. It is available off the shelf rather than only as a custom engagement, and it is useful evidence of continuing professional development for API recertification.
The mismatch is the point to weigh. It teaches the Shell S-RBI methodology inside one vendor's tool, not the API RP 580 framework, so terminology and scoring differ from the exam, and a candidate could learn the right ideas under the wrong names.
No price is published and there is no online self-study version, so it is a course to request a quote for. For an existing IMS PEI user it is a credible way to deepen practical knowledge; as exam preparation it is a detour.
Where it wins
- Taught by the vendor of the IMS PEI software, linking theory to a working tool
- Covers probability, consequence, confidence, intervals and planning
- Also covers corrosion loops, degradation mechanisms and operating windows
- Available off the shelf, and counts as CPD evidence
Where it falls short
- Teaches the Shell S-RBI methodology, not the API RP 580 framework
- Price is not published and there is no online self-study version
- Aimed at users of the vendor's software, so value elsewhere is limited
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Course | Not published | Booking by form; no self-study version |
A credible way for an IMS PEI user to deepen practical RBI knowledge, but it is not API 580 exam preparation.
Pros
- Theory linked to a real tool
- Covers the core RBI concepts
- Available off the shelf
- Counts as CPD evidence
Cons
- Vendor methodology, not API 580
- No price published
- Limited value outside the software
Which API 580 study resource to pick, and for whom
Start with the free Body of Knowledge from API and with API RP 580 itself. Nothing else is authoritative, the current standard costs about EUR 315.15 excluding VAT, and an hour of free Inspectioneering reading is a cheap way to check that the concepts make sense outside an exam context.
For practice, Study4Exam is the only question bank that can be bought today, and API 580 Certification Prep is the phone-first option once it is released. For teaching, Wilkinson Coutts is the cheapest online route at AUD 1,250, Haward is the one with a workbook and daily tests if you want five structured days, and Equity is the stronger technical choice when an employer is paying and code committee depth matters more than exam drills. Glomacs only makes sense if API RP 581 and ASME PCC-3 matter to your role as well.
Remember that the exam is closed book, that API publishes no pass mark, and that it sells no practice questions, so the USD 380 to USD 440 certification fee is only part of what you will spend to be ready.