- API 653 Certification Prep is best for phone practice with explained answers, though it is not released yet.
- API 653 certification (API ICP) is best for the credential and the free syllabus documents.
- The API ICP 653 study guide and exam pack is best for the official guide plus the codes the open-book section expects.
- TWI is best for a UK classroom route with the full syllabus published up front.
- CASTI is best for choosing between a live five day class and cheaper self-study.
- Wilkinson Coutts is best for months of structured online material plus mock exams.
- Glomacs is best for a five day exam preparation class with London dates.
- Austenite API 653 helpmate is best for an offline bank aligned to the current Body of Knowledge.
- Power Engineering 101 API653 Storage Tank Inspector is best for cheap monthly practice with three study modes.
- API 653 Highlights and Exams is best for a free offline question set to try before paying.
Quick comparison
| Resource | Type | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| API 653 Certification Prep | Mobile app | Phone practice with explained answers | Not published; not released |
| API 653 certification (API ICP) | Official programme | The credential and free syllabus | USD 875 member / USD 1,125 non-member |
| API ICP 653 study guide and exam pack | Guide and documents | The guide plus the open-book codes | Not published |
| TWI exam preparation course | Instructor-led | A UK classroom route with a full syllabus | Not published |
| CASTI API 653 ICP preparation | Course or self-study | Live class or cheaper self-study | USD 995 self-study; USD 1,995 instructor-led |
| Wilkinson Coutts API 653 ICP | Blended course | Online months plus mock exams | AUD 3,600 to AUD 3,650, GST free |
| Glomacs API 653 | Five day course | Exam prep with London dates | USD 4,950 online; USD 5,950 classroom |
| API 653 helpmate, Austenite | iOS app | Offline bank aligned to the Body of Knowledge | Free; GBP 49.99 per year |
| API653 Storage Tank Inspector | iOS app | Cheap monthly drilling in three modes | Free; GBP 9.00 per month |
| API 653 Highlights and Exams | iOS app | A free offline taster | Free; full version price not verified |
How this list was put together
The order below is by how well each option serves the question in the title, judged on published features and prices, and every price was checked on 2026-09-15. Where a provider publishes no price, this page says so rather than guessing, and no option here is endorsed by API.
API 653 is a different shopping problem from API 580. Three iOS question-bank apps were on the UK App Store on 2026-09-15, so phone practice is genuinely crowded: Austenite's helpmate at GBP 49.99 a year, Power Engineering 101's Storage Tank Inspector at GBP 9.00 a month, and an older free listing from 2018. What is not crowded is price transparency. The official study guide and exam pack, the TWI course and the Glomacs amounts all leave the buyer guessing or checking the currency.
The first entry, API 653 Certification Prep, is a phone-first option built around the API 653 Body of Knowledge areas. It is listed as coming soon rather than released, so read that entry before planning around it.
1. API 653 Certification Prep: best for focused mobile practice of tank inspection questions
API 653 Certification Prep is a mobile app for practising API 653 tank inspection questions with the reasoning explained after each answer. The question, explanation and review loop covers the exam topics: tank inspection, inspection intervals, shell, roof and bottom assessment, settlement, corrosion, and repairs, alterations and reconstruction. Sets are grouped by topic, and questions answered incorrectly come back.
Explanations point back to the supporting API 653 topic, so when you get something wrong you start the code-book reading from the right clause instead of rereading a chapter. It is cheap and mobile, which suits inspectors working shifts or on site, and it is built around the current API 653 Body of Knowledge areas rather than a generic tank engineering syllabus.
The catch is availability. It is listed as coming soon, both store badges on its page are marked not yet available, and no release date and no price are published, so nobody can use it today. No ratings or reviews exist yet, so its question quality cannot be checked publicly, and it is practice only: it does not replace API 653 or the other documents needed for the open-book part of the real exam.
Where it wins
- Built around the API 653 Body of Knowledge areas rather than a generic tank syllabus
- Every answer explained, with a pointer back to the supporting topic
- Focused sets by topic plus a return to questions answered incorrectly
- Cheap and mobile, which suits shift work and site visits
Where it falls short
- Not released: coming soon, with no announced date and no live store listing, so nobody can use it today
- Practice only: it does not replace API 653 or the documents needed for the open-book section
- No ratings or reviews exist yet, so its question quality cannot be checked publicly
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Not released | Not published | No store listing and no release date |
A phone-first option built around the current Body of Knowledge areas, and a natural first purchase once it launches, but it cannot be used today and it is not a substitute for the code.
Pros
- Covers the current Body of Knowledge areas
- Every answer explained
- Missed questions return
- Cheaper than any course
Cons
- Not released yet
- No published price
- No public reviews
2. API 653 Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector certification (API ICP): best for the credential and the free official documents
API 653 Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector certification (API ICP) is the certification itself, run by the American Petroleum Institute, and it is the only route to the credential. The exam day runs 7.5 hours with 170 questions, 140 of which are scored, split into 110 closed book and 60 open book. PDFs of the pertinent codes and standards are provided on screen for the 3.75 hour open-book section, which is unusual and changes how you should prepare. API publishes a free Body of Knowledge and a free Publications Effectivity Sheet for the March to November 2026 and 2027 windows, and the qualification table is based on education and experience, with API 653 Annex D as the reference.
The certification is accredited by ANSI to ISO 17024, which API says is intended to guarantee the openness and integrity of the exam, and the 2026 windows are March, July and November.
The costs are the highest of any API ICP exam. Fees are USD 875 for members and USD 1,125 for non-members, with recertification at USD 745 and USD 855, plus USD 350 to reschedule and USD 200 for a late application. The API 510 cost breakdown explains how these ICP fees stack up with documents and resits, and the exam window guide covers the same application deadline trap. Two constraints matter: it is offered at in-person test centres only, so unlike API 580 there is no remote proctoring, and applicants must be employed by or under contract to an authorised inspection agency, with experience verified after applying.
Where it wins
- Free Body of Knowledge and Publications Effectivity Sheet for the 2026 and 2027 windows
- Part of the exam is open book, with the code PDFs supplied on screen
- Accredited by ANSI to ISO 17024
- A published qualification table based on education, experience and API 653 Annex D
Where it falls short
- In-person test centres only, so unlike API 580 it cannot be taken by remote proctoring
- The most expensive ICP exam at USD 875 to USD 1,125, before any course or code documents
- Applicants must be employed by or under contract to an authorised inspection agency
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Exam fee | USD 875 member / USD 1,125 non-member | Initial certification |
| Reschedule or late application | USD 350 / USD 200 | On top of the exam fee |
The only route to the credential and the source of the free syllabus documents, but at USD 875 to USD 1,125 with mandatory in-person attendance it is the fixed cost every other option sits on top of.
Pros
- The only route to the credential
- Free syllabus documents
- Part of the exam is open book
- Accredited to ISO 17024
Cons
- In-person test centres only
- The most expensive ICP exam
- Authorised agency employment required
3. API ICP 653 study guide and code document exam pack: best for buying the official guide with the codes the open-book section expects
The API ICP 653 study guide and code document exam pack is published by API specifically for this exam rather than by a third party. API's own certification page directs candidates to an exam pack containing all the API 653 documents, which is the material the open-book section relies on, and a reseller listing for the study guide describes coverage of the Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector certification exam for exams through November. Because the code documents are unavoidable for the open-book half, bundling a guide with them is usually the cheapest route to both.
The problem is verification. Price, page count and current edition could not be confirmed: the reseller pages returned an automated bot check instead of content on 2026-09-15, and the API webstore renders prices with JavaScript and showed nothing readable. API's certification page also still links to an older exam pack slug covering November 2019 through July 2020, so buyers must check the current edition before paying.
Because part of the exam is open book, the code documents matter more than a narrative study guide. The guide to getting the code documents covers the same buying problem of editions, resellers and formats.
Where it wins
- Published by API specifically for the API 653 ICP exam
- The exam pack contains all the API 653 documents the open-book section relies on
- The study guide is described as covering exams through November
- Buying the code documents is unavoidable, so bundling a guide is usually the cheapest route
Where it falls short
- Price, page count and current edition could not be confirmed on 2026-09-15
- API's page still links to an older exam pack slug for November 2019 to July 2020
- The open-book section means the code documents matter more than a narrative guide
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Study guide and exam pack | Not published | Price and current edition could not be confirmed |
Every candidate ends up buying these documents, so budget for them, but check the current edition with API or a reseller first because the published links are older than the current exam windows.
Pros
- Official API material
- Covers the open-book codes
- Usually bundled at a lower total
- Aimed at this exam specifically
Cons
- Price not published
- Current edition unclear
- Older pack still linked
4. API 653 Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector Examination Preparation Course, TWI: best for a UK classroom route with the full syllabus published up front
TWI's API 653 Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector Examination Preparation Course publishes the most detailed syllabus of any course in this list. It covers the whole API 653 Body of Knowledge plus API 650, ASME Section IX welding requirements, ASME Section V non-destructive testing and API 575 degradation mechanisms, and it names the calculation side explicitly: minimum thickness determination, remaining life, weld sizes, nozzle reinforcement, brittle fracture and post weld heat treatment. That is the material candidates find hardest to self teach.
TWI also publishes the API entry requirements and experience combinations on the course page, which saves an application surprise, and the course sits inside its CSWIP Plant Inspection pathway, so it links into a wider certification scheme. TWI is a well established welding and inspection institute with a UK base in Cambridge.
The weakness is price. None is published: the figure only appears after a date and location are chosen in TWI's booking portal, so the course cannot be compared on cost without contacting TWI. Classroom attendance is required, dates are spread across TWI's global locations, and the API exam fee, application and code documents are all separate. If the welding and NDT vocabulary is unfamiliar, what an NDT and welding inspection report has to capture is a useful primer on the field side.
Where it wins
- Detailed published syllabus covering the whole Body of Knowledge plus API 650, ASME IX and ASME V
- Names the calculation types explicitly, including minimum thickness, remaining life and nozzle reinforcement
- Publishes the API entry requirements and experience combinations
- Part of the CSWIP Plant Inspection pathway, with a UK base in Cambridge
Where it falls short
- No price published on the course page, so a quote is needed
- Classroom attendance required, with dates spread across global locations
- The exam fee, application and code documents are all separate
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Course | Not published | Price appears only after choosing a date and location |
The best documented syllabus here and a solid choice for the calculation heavy parts of the exam, but you have to ask for the price.
Pros
- Full syllabus published
- Strong on calculations
- Entry requirements explained
- UK based institute
Cons
- Price not published
- Classroom attendance required
- Documents and exam fee extra
5. API 653 ICP Certification Preparation, CASTI: best for choosing between a live five day class and cheaper self-study
CASTI's API 653 ICP Certification Preparation is the best value structured course found for this exam, because it comes at two clear price points. Instructor-led costs USD 1,995 for five live days plus online lessons and a 4 hour tutorial, and self-study costs USD 995, roughly half. Both include online lessons with email support and online practice exams, and the self-study option can be aligned to a specific exam window, with a November 2026 course listed.
The tiers differ in a way worth reading carefully. The self-study fee buys lessons, practice exams and email support, but no live teaching. The instructor-led tier adds a live tutorial session and practice exam review, which is where most candidates actually need help, so the extra USD 1,000 buys the part that is hardest to replace.
The limitations are modest but real. USD 995 for self-study still buys no live teaching, the printed course notebook is only available in Canada and cannot be shipped elsewhere, and no exam pass rate is published. Note also that the same price table is used for CASTI's other API ICP exams, so check that the course you buy is the 653 one.
Where it wins
- Two clear price points, with self-study at roughly half the instructor-led fee
- Both options include online lessons with email support and online practice exams
- Instructor-led adds a live tutorial and practice exam review
- A November 2026 self-study course is listed
Where it falls short
- USD 995 for self-study buys no live teaching
- The printed course notebook is only available in Canada
- No published exam pass rate
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Self-study | USD 995 | Online lessons, practice exams and email support |
| Instructor-led | USD 1,995 | Five live days plus online lessons and a 4 hour tutorial |
The best value structured course found for API 653, and the self-study tier undercuts every classroom option while still including practice exams.
Pros
- Clear two tier pricing
- Practice exams included
- Aligned to exam windows
- Cheaper than classroom rivals
Cons
- Self-study has no live teaching
- Notebook limited to Canada
- No published pass rate
6. API 653 ICP Above Ground Storage Tank Inspector, Wilkinson Coutts: best for months of structured online material plus mock exams
Wilkinson Coutts offers the most complete published study structure in this list: three months of self-directed online training, then five classroom days, then three days of online mock exams. The Body of Knowledge list is detailed, covering corrosion rates and inspection intervals, joint efficiencies, static head, settlement evaluation and minimum thickness calculations, and the classroom component can be attended in person or streamed over Zoom, so travel is optional.
The price is AUD 3,600 GST free for the October 2026 Perth date, which had one place left on 2026-09-15, and AUD 3,650 for the 2027 Perth and Brisbane dates. Exam preparation courses from this provider are GST free, as confirmed in its terms, and online materials are provided for the exam cycle with one additional cycle free if a resit is needed.
That still leaves two problems. AUD 3,600 to AUD 3,650 is the highest price of the courses in this list, and the classroom dates are in Australia only, Perth and Brisbane, even though they can be streamed. Exam enrolment, fees and the code documents are explicitly the student's own responsibility.
Where it wins
- Three months of online training, five classroom days and three days of online mock exams
- Detailed Body of Knowledge list including settlement evaluation and minimum thickness calculations
- Classroom can be attended or streamed over Zoom, so travel is optional
- Exam preparation courses are GST free, with an extra cycle of materials after a resit
Where it falls short
- AUD 3,600 to AUD 3,650 is the highest price of the courses here
- Classroom dates are in Australia only, even though they can be streamed
- Exam enrolment, fees and code documents are the student's own responsibility
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Perth, October 2026 | AUD 3,600 GST free | Online component, five classroom days and mock exams |
| Perth and Brisbane, 2027 | AUD 3,650 GST free | Same structure, later dates |
The most complete published study structure here, and the mock exams are the closest thing to the real open-book experience, but the price and the Australian schedule make it a bigger commitment.
Pros
- Most complete study structure
- Mock exams included
- Streaming removes the travel
- GST free
Cons
- Highest course price here
- Australian classroom dates
- Exam fees and codes extra
7. API 653: Tank Inspection, Repair, Alteration and Reconstruction, Glomacs: best for a five day exam preparation class with London dates
Glomacs runs a five day course explicitly titled as API exam preparation training for API 653, unlike its broader RBI and integrity courses. That matters if you want a named exam prep class rather than a general topic course, and the classroom dates include London as well as Dubai and Abu Dhabi, which suits UK candidates who would rather not travel far. Online dates are available and run into 2027, and Glomacs publishes accreditations and a client list, which helps with due diligence.
On price, the schedule table shows USD 5,950 for classroom dates and USD 4,950 for online dates, which makes it the highest headline price of any course found for this exam.
The page also does not state the currency of the amounts, so confirm before booking, and no syllabus detail, pass rate or practice question count was visible on the page we loaded. At roughly three times the cost of the self-study options, it needs a strong reason to choose it: convenience of a London date is the obvious one.
Where it wins
- Titled explicitly as API 653 exam preparation training
- Five days of instruction with classroom dates in London as well as the Gulf
- Online dates available, running into 2027
- Published accreditations and a client list
Where it falls short
- USD 5,950 is the highest headline price of any course found for this exam
- The page does not state the currency of the amounts
- No published syllabus detail, pass rate or practice question count
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Online | USD 4,950 | Five days; currency not stated |
| Classroom | USD 5,950 | London, Dubai and Abu Dhabi; currency not stated |
Convenient if you want a London classroom date for a five day API 653 course, but at roughly three times the self-study options it needs a strong reason.
Pros
- London classroom dates
- Named as exam preparation
- Online alternative
- Published accreditations
Cons
- Highest headline price
- Currency not stated
- Little syllabus detail
8. API 653 helpmate, Austenite: best for an offline question bank aligned to the current Body of Knowledge
API 653 helpmate from Austenite is the most professional looking of the three API 653 apps and the only one that can be installed and used today. The developer states that the knowledge base covers the current API 653 Body of Knowledge for the Aboveground Storage Tank Inspector certification, and the app supports progress tracking and building question sets by standard, so study can follow the code rather than a fixed order. It is free to download, so you can try it before paying.
The publisher has a family of API inspection apps for 510, 570, 571 and 653, so the format is tested across the pathway, and version 1.2 was released in June 2025 and updated in April 2026, which shows it is maintained.
Two things to weigh. Full access costs GBP 49.99 per year through the API 653 Premium 1 Year Access in-app purchase, which is the most expensive of the three apps here, and there were no ratings or reviews at all in the UK store on 2026-09-15, so quality is unproven publicly. The developer description also makes no claim of API endorsement or affiliation, and none should be assumed.
Where it wins
- Developer states the knowledge base covers the current API 653 Body of Knowledge
- Progress tracking and question sets built by standard
- Maintained: version 1.2 released June 2025 and updated April 2026
- Free to download and try before paying
Where it falls short
- GBP 49.99 per year is the most expensive of the three API 653 apps
- No ratings or reviews at all in the UK store on 2026-09-15
- No claim of API endorsement or affiliation, and none should be assumed
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Download | Free | Try before paying |
| API 653 Premium 1 Year Access | GBP 49.99 | One year of full access as an in-app purchase |
The most professional looking of the API 653 apps, with Body of Knowledge alignment and year long access, but it costs more than the others and it is not official API material.
Pros
- Aligned to the Body of Knowledge
- Question sets by standard
- Actively maintained
- Free to try
Cons
- Most expensive of the three apps
- No reviews to judge quality
- Not API affiliated
9. API653 Storage Tank Inspector, Power Engineering 101: best for cheap monthly practice with three study modes
API653 Storage Tank Inspector from Power Engineering 101 is good value for a few weeks of drilling before the exam. It offers three modes: final exam simulation without feedback, practice mode with answers revealed after each question, and flashcards. Study can be filtered by individual categories, so a candidate can drill settlement or repairs and alterations separately, and detailed score reports highlight correct and incorrect answers. It was released in March 2026 and updated in August 2026, so it is current, and at about GBP 9.00 per month it is the cheapest paid option here and can be cancelled after the exam.
The reservations are about editorial care rather than price. It is subscription only, with no one-off purchase option. The same publisher ships a very large catalogue of generic exam practice apps, so this is one title among hundreds rather than a specialist inspection product. The app description also contains a leftover reference to the style of the real abc certification exams, which reads like template text and is not reassuring about how closely the questions were checked against the code.
Treat it as cheap volume with useful category filters, and verify anything it teaches against API 653 itself.
Where it wins
- Three modes: exam simulation, practice with answers, and flashcards
- Study by individual categories, such as settlement or repairs and alterations
- Released March 2026 and updated August 2026
- Cheapest paid option at about GBP 9.00 per month
Where it falls short
- Subscription only, with no one-off purchase option
- One title among a very large catalogue of generic practice apps
- The description contains a leftover reference to the abc certification exams, which reads like template text
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | GBP 9.00 per month | Auto-renewing, with three study modes |
Good value for a few weeks of drilling and the category level study is genuinely useful, but the templated description means the questions should be checked against the code.
Pros
- Three study modes
- Category level drilling
- Recently updated
- Cheap monthly cost
Cons
- No one-off purchase
- Generic publisher catalogue
- Template description text
10. API 653 Highlights and Exams, Nguyen Hieu: best for a free offline question set to try before paying
API 653 Highlights and Exams is the free taster of the three apps, and it works offline, which suits site and shift work. The developer states that the free version has 15 practice and 15 exam questions and that the full Exams version contains more than 1,700 questions covering the whole examination. It gives a quick sense of the question style before spending money, and it has been on the UK store since October 2018, so the listing is long standing.
The problem is age. It has not been updated since October 2018 and remains at version 1.0, so its content predates the current API 653 Body of Knowledge and code editions, which have moved on considerably since. The free tier is also only 15 practice and 15 exam questions, and no in-app purchase was listed on the UK page we loaded on 2026-09-15, so how to buy the full version is unclear from the listing. The developer's catalogue is mostly games, and the listing reads like an older template.
Use it as a free introduction to the question style, not as a study plan.
Where it wins
- Free to download and works offline
- Developer states more than 1,700 questions in the full Exams version
- Gives a quick sense of the question style before spending money
- A long standing listing, on the UK store since October 2018
Where it falls short
- Not updated since October 2018, so its content predates the current Body of Knowledge and code editions
- The free tier is only 15 practice and 15 exam questions, and no in-app purchase was listed on the UK page
- The developer's catalogue is mostly games and the listing reads like an older template
| Tier | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Free | 15 practice and 15 exam questions |
| Full version | Not verified | Developer states more than 1,700 questions; no in-app purchase listed on the UK page |
Fine as a free taster and useful offline, but an app last updated in 2018 is a weak primary study tool for an exam whose codes have moved on since.
Pros
- Free and offline
- Large question count claimed
- Sense of the question style
- Long standing listing
Cons
- Last updated in 2018
- Tiny free tier
- Purchase route unclear
Which API 653 study resource to pick, and for whom
Start with the free Body of Knowledge and Publications Effectivity Sheet from API, then budget for the code documents, because part of the exam is open book and the supplied PDFs are the material you will be searching. The study guide and exam pack entry above explains why checking the current edition matters before you pay.
For structured teaching, CASTI is the best value at USD 995 self-study or USD 1,995 instructor-led, TWI is the strongest on the calculation heavy topics if you want a UK classroom and can get a price out of them, and Wilkinson Coutts offers the most complete structure at AUD 3,600 to AUD 3,650 if the Australian schedule works for you. Glomacs is the most expensive and mainly buys you a London date.
For practice, Austenite's helpmate is the most complete app at GBP 49.99 a year, Power Engineering 101 is the cheap monthly option at about GBP 9.00, and API 653 Certification Prep is the phone-first option once it is released. Whatever you choose, remember that the certification fee of USD 875 to USD 1,125 and the in-person test centre requirement sit underneath all of it.